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ORDER OF THE WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF  

AGRICULTURE, TRADE AND CONSUMER PROTECTION  

ADOPTING RULES 

 
The Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade and consumer protection adopts the following 1 

order to create ATCP 69.01(3)(e) and (f) relating to buttermaker license qualifications. 2 

________________________________________________________________________ 

Analysis Prepared by the Department 

of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection 

  

The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) currently 
licenses buttermakers under s. 97.17, Stats.  This rule provides more ways for an individual to 

qualify for licensing as a buttermaker.   
 

Statutes Interpreted 

 
Statutes Interpreted: s. 97.17(2), Stats. 

 
Statutory Authority 

 

Statutory Authority: ss. 93.07(1) and 97.17(2) and 227.24, Stats. 
 

Explanation of Statutory Authority 

 
DATCP has broad general authority under s. 93.07(1), Stats., to interpret laws under its 

jurisdiction.  DATCP has specific authority under s. 97.17(2), Stats., to establish license 
qualifications for buttermakers. 

 
Plain Language Analysis 

 

DATCP licenses individuals as buttermakers under s. 97.17, Stats.  DATCP has adopted 
licensing rules under ch. ATCP 69, Wis. Adm. Code.  Currently, an applicant for a 2-year 

buttermaker license must pass an examination (required only for initial license) and must show 
that he or she has done at least one of the following (required for initial and renewal license): 
 

 Been licensed as a buttermaker for at least 10 years. 

 Worked directly under a licensed buttermaker for at least 24 months. 

 Worked directly under a licensed buttermaker for at least 18 months and completed a 
DATCP-approved training course from an accredited post-secondary institution. 
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 Obtained a 4-year degree in food science (or an equivalent major) from an accredited post-

secondary educational institution, and worked directly under a licensed buttermaker for at 
least 12 months. 

 

Under this rule, an applicant may also qualify for licensing if either of the following apply (the 
applicant must also pass an examination for an initial license): 

 

 The applicant holds a Wisconsin cheesemaker license and has done all of the following: 
 

 Completed a DATCP-approved buttermaker training course. 
 Worked in buttermaking operations for at least 40 hours under the direct personal 

supervision of a licensed buttermaker. 
 

 The applicant has done all of the following: 

 
 Worked in the complete process of buttermaking for at least 120 hours under the direct 

personal supervision of a licensed buttermaker. 
 Completed DATCP-approved courses in all of the following: 

 
o Buttermaking. 
o Production of safe dairy foods. 

o Hazard analysis critical control point (HACCP) process control. 
o Principles of milk pasteurization.  

o Dairy sanitation. 
 

Fiscal Impact 

 
This rule will have no significant fiscal impact on Wisconsin state or local government.  This 

rule does not increase buttermaker license fees.  This rule may increase the number of 
buttermaker licenses, but the increase is not expected to have a significant impact on DATCP 
license revenues or administrative costs.  DATCP expects to absorb any increased costs with 

current budget and staff.  A complete fiscal estimate is attached. 
 

Business Impact 

 
This rule will have a positive impact on the Wisconsin dairy industry, including Wisconsin’s 

butter industry.  The rule will promote the development and diversification of the dairy industry, 
and will not have any negative impact on business.  The rule will: 

 
 Provide more options for individuals who wish to be licensed as buttermakers.   
 Help relieve a current acute shortage of licensed buttermakers, which is putting the state’s 

butter industry at risk.   
 Allow more people to enter the industry as licensed buttermakers, including makers of 

artisan and farmstead butter.   



 3 

 Help ensure the safety and quality of Wisconsin butter, by ensuring that buttermakers are 
adequately trained and qualified.   

 Make it easier for licensed cheesemakers to obtain a buttermaker license.  That may give 
them more job flexibility, and provide more opportunities for value-added dairy enterprise. 

 
This rule does not increase license fees, add new recordkeeping requirements, or require 
businesses to pay for additional professional services.  Small businesses will benefit from this 

rule, and will not be adversely affected in any way.  A complete business impact analysis is 
attached.   

 

Federal Regulation 

 

The United States food and drug administration has adopted food safety and labeling standards 
for butter, including a butter “standard of identity” (a product such as margarine may not be sold 

as “butter”).  The United States department of agriculture has also adopted grading standards for 
butter.  Neither FDA nor USDA licenses buttermakers.   
 

This rule is not affected by current federal rules.  However, buttermakers licensed under this rule 
must be aware of the relevant federal rules. 

 
Surrounding State Regulation 

 

Buttermakers are not required to hold an individual professional license in any of the 
surrounding states (dairy plant operators must be licensed, as in Wisconsin). 

 

Data and Analytical Methodologies 

 

This rule does not rely on any special data or analytical methodologies.   
 

Agency Contact for Submitting Comments 

 
Questions or comments related to this rule may be sent to the following address: 

 
Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection 

Trade and Consumer Protection Division 
Division of Food Safety 
P.O. Box 8911 

Madison, WI 53708-8911 
Attn:  Steve Ingham 

Telephone:  (608) 224-4701 
E-Mail:  Steve.Ingham@wi.gov 

 

____________________________________________________________________________________ 
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SECTION 1.  ATCP 69.01(3)(e) and (f) are created to read: 1 

ATCP 69.01(3)(e)  The applicant holds a cheesemakers license in this state and has done 2 

all of the following: 3 

1.  Completed a department-approved buttermaking course. 4 

  2.  Completed 40 hours of work in buttermaking operations under the direct supervision 5 

of a licensed buttermaker. 6 

(f)  Within 5 years prior to the current license application, the applicant has completed at 7 

least 120 hours of on-the-job training in the complete process of buttermaking under the direct 8 

supervision of a licensed buttermaker, and has completed department-approved courses in all of 9 

the following subjects: 10 

1.  Buttermaking. 11 

2.  Production of safe dairy foods. 12 

3.  Hazard analysis critical control point (HACCP) process control. 13 

4.  Principles of milk pasteurization. 14 

5.  Dairy sanitation. 15 

SECTION 2.  EFFECTIVE DATE.  This rule takes effect on the first day of the month 16 

following publication in the Wisconsin administrative register, as provided under s. 17 

227.22(2)(intro.), Stats. 18 

            Dated this __________ day of _____________________, 2011 

 
     STATE OF WISCONSIN 

     DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, 
     TRADE AND CONSUMER PROTECTION 
 

     By _________________________________ 
          Ben Brancel  

  Secretary 


